jump to navigation

Lord of Light – Roger Zelazny June 24, 2007

Posted by taryn in sci fi.
trackback

Lord of Light - Roger ZelaznyAgain, like Light I found the first few chapters a challenge, but once I got a bit deeper into the story I was hooked. What’s not to like about a scenario where humans have colonised a new planet with their own offsrpring and exert control by being Hindu Gods and quashing any new technology? Enter Sam…

“His followers called him Mahasamatman and said he was a god. He preferred to drop the Maha- and the -atman, however, and called himself Sam. He never claimed to be a god. But then, he never claimed not to be a god.”

(George RR Martin wrote the intro for this reprint and says that this short para drew him into the book. Another reason I liked the idea of Lord of Light – if George RR likes it… it must be good.)

Sam is one of the ‘Firsts’ who doesn’t agree with the status quo, wants to bring heaven down as it were and you are drawn into his struggle, a karmic society with reincarnation, prayer machines, ‘sky’ chariots and a raft of mad aliens – all written in a semi religious buddhist/hindu context.

I like Diary of a Phanatique’s review and synopsis of the plot. Another interesting review from SFsite too.

Now I need help, I started the book knowing that there is a massive pun . I’m rather embarassed to say I missed it. If anyone would like to illuminate me that would be fab.

I love the cover, the illustration of the lotus is fantastic. The Gollancz crew did a great job on the covers of this series.

Comments»

1. nick - October 31, 2007

Just finished the book. Unfortunately I also missed the pun somehow, and haven’t turned up anything on the net that actually explains it…

2. Peter - November 27, 2007

The famous line is: The fit hit the Shan. There’s others, but that’s the one I remember.

3. Sam - December 30, 2007

great book.
Sam is a good character

4. taryn - January 1, 2008

Sam is great. I thought there was another pun rather than ‘the fit hit the Shan’? I loved that one!

5. lucifer - February 3, 2008

“The fit hit the Shan”
god. i missed this one. hahaha! o my god it’s making me laugh now, of all times!


Leave a comment